Join Our LinkedIn Group
Home > Tech Nite > Tech Nite - Details
Decrease Text Size Increase Text Size Print This Page Email This Page Bookmark This Page

Tech Nite - Details

Tech Nite is the Shenandoah Valley Technology Council's annual premier gathering, highlighting the Valley's technology achievement and innovation in 8 award categories. On May 3, 2017 attendees gathered at JMU's Festival Center for Tech Nite 17 to recognize and highlight the successes of technology firms, organizations and programs in the region and the entrepreneurs and innovators behind those successes.  

What are the accomplishments of the 2017 nominees and winners? Read the details: SVTC Tech Nite 2017 program incl. summaries (pdf)

Award categories and nominees:


JMU CISE's Innovation in Community Impact Award

JMU College of Integrated Science and Engineering

Sponsored by JMU College of Integrated Science & Engineering

The Community Impact Award is given to an individual, team, nonprofit/civic organization, or company in the Shenandoah Valley that aspires to use its capabilities to help solve a social or environmental issue in a local community while using technology to amplify the impact of a service, mission, or project.

2017 Nominees:

Explore More Discovery Museum & JMU Debate Club

Harrisonburg Gift and Thrift, Inc. & Secure Futures, LLC

Wildlife Center of Virginia


JMU CoB's Innovation in Emerging Business Award

JMU College of Business

Sponsored by JMU College of Business.

Awarded to a Shenandoah Valley start-up technology company, or entrepreneur, that has proven the ability to achieve commercial success. 

2017 Nominees:

Blue Vigil, LLC


The Chiedo Companies


Ryzing Technologies

Innovation in Education K-12 Award

Sponsored by Lumos Networks

Awarded to the educator or program in K-12 that provides exceptional technology leadership, innovative use and/or development of technology while encouraging students to pursue higher education or training in science, technology, engineering or math.

2017 Nominees:

Lucas C. Conner | Alleghany County Public Schools

Matt Goss | Blue Ridge Community College

SGT Kenneth Glass | Fishburne Military School

Amy Sabarre & Jeremy Aldrich | Harrisonburg City Public Schools

Remy Pangle | The KidWind Challenge/JMU Wind Energy

Chris Dalton | Massanutten Technical Center

Dr. Oskar Scheikl | Rockingham County Public Schools

Eric Johnston, Patrick Graybeal, Kathy Chrisman | SD Solutions LLC et al

Matthew T. Britton | Shenandoah County Public Schools

Jessica Herr | Staunton City Public Schools


Cadence's Innovation In Higher Education Award


Sponsored by Cadence, Inc.

Awarded to the educator or program in higher education that provides exceptional technology leadership, innovative use and/or development of technology while encouraging students to pursue higher education or training in science, technology, engineering or math.

2017 Nominees:

"Knowledge to Work" / Lord Fairfax Community College

Software Development and Implementation
University of Virginia, School of Medicine

COL Stacey Vargas, PhD | VMI / VMI Research Laboratory

CIT's Innovation in Development Award

CIT Logo

Sponsored by the Center for Innovative Technology

Awarded to a company or organization whose development of new technology applications and/or systems creates new processes, methodologies, and/or services for their own or others' benefit.

2017 Nominees:

Dr. Sven A. Brueckner | Axon AI

 The Center for International Stabilization and Recovery's
CAST Project Team

(Paul Rittenhouse, Lindsay Aldrich, Heather Holsinger)


 Ben Hanson | Serco, Inc.

WAW's Innovation in Utilization Award

Wharton Aldhizer & Weaver Logo

Sponsored by Wharton Aldhizer & Weaver PLC

This award recognizes outstanding commercial growth and achievement by an established company that either produces or markets high tech products or services, or an established company or organization that produces/offers more traditional products and services (where technology itself is not the core business purpose).

2017 Nominees:

Rivermont Farm

 Rockingham Group

 Shenandoah Computer Center

 Sigora Solar

 Total Technology Management


 Shentel's Dr. John Noftsinger Leadership Award


Sponsored by Shentel

Recipient’s leadership has served as a catalyst for
positive technology-related activity in the Shenandoah Valley.
(Only one nominee is publicized, even if several nominations were received)

2017 Nominee:

Dr. Harry Reif/ JMU College of Business
Computer Information Systems and Business Analytics


Serco's People's Choice Award


Sponsored by Serco

Awarded to one nominee from the other categories. All nominees are candidates — and the company, organization, or individual with the most votes through social media *before* and *during* the event will win. Voting starts the day all nominees are publicized and continues during the gala.

Massanutten Technical Center